In God’s name…

Sick today…cough…splitting headache…my hair hurts!  Spent most of the afternoon in bed flipping from one news channel to another.  (Don’t laugh, my only other choices were Oprah and Dr. Phil…I’d rather be chewing on tin-foil!)  I noticed a theme running through the news though.  God is getting a lot of press these days.  Some good, some bad.


It seems like everyone is doing something in the name of God.  A car bomb blows up in a busy marketplace because “God” made the bomber do it.  Marines attack insurgents in a mosque who are there in the name of “God.”  Our President believes that God is on his side in this war.  Arafat wants to be buried in Jerusalem because that’s where “God” would want him to be buried.  A 56 year old woman says she’s been blessed by God by having twins (I’ll bet she’s talking to God a lot more in the coming months!)  The GOP believes that God (and his evangelical minions) won the election for them.  Some athelete or music star is always telling us how much God has blessed them by letting them score touchdowns or sell platinum records.  God truly IS all over the place.


It’s interesting to me that we attribute to God what we think is the best decision for us.  We say that it’s “God’s will” that we go to war (or not).  We say that it’s “God’s will” that we buy a new house (or not).  We believe that it’s “God’s will” that we find the church that blesses us (or not).  Depending on our own whims, God could get the credit for just about anything — whether He wants it OR NOT.


On the more sadistic side, we attribute pain and suffering to God too.  We see a child die and a parent weeping and our best answer is “God works all things for good.”  We lay a guilt trip on a wife that is so emotionally abused by her husband that her self-esteem is destroyed and we believe that’s a good thing because, after all, “God hates divorce.” 


This concept of attributing human stupidity or genious to God seems strange to me.  Sure, just like everyone else I’d like to know what God’s will is for my every step.  But he has yet to send me a detailed itenerary for every day of my life.  He simply says “Follow me.”  He lets me know a little bit more of his heart every day through his word, through his people, and through circumstances.  But he has yet to tip his whole hand to me.  (I kinda wish he would, frankly, because I’d like to know whether it’s his will for me to eat a cheesburger over tofu anyday.)  Right now, however, I think He’s calling me to take some more Nyquil. 

~ by Chris Green on November 11, 2004.

One Response to “In God’s name…”

  1. Chris,Good thoughts today. I agree with you here big time. I have heard people say things such as this, and I have at times fallen victim to the idea that my choices are somehow God’s will. I stumbled onto the “follow me,” buisness when my wife and I moved out to OK. We knew we would one day wind up in ministry, just not sure where, when the call came to move, we struggle, I more than she,but we struggled. I had a choice, was God’s hand in all of this? I think so, In Acts we read, in him we move and have our being”, so I would like to think that being a youth minister in this church is what I am supposed to do, but I do know that I have a choice as to what I do. Great reminder of the mystery of God’s willI was also reminded of Proverbs 14:12, there is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death.

Leave a Reply

