Randy Moss, Steroids, and The Gospel

As could be said of many males of my species in this country, I probably spend too much time watching SportsCenter.  Last night as I watched I couldn’t get the question out of my mind, “Which one sinned, this man or the league/industry/culture that created him?”


I watch as Randy Moss threatens to shake his *%$# next time and laughing off a fine that is equal to or much higher the annual income of millions of people in this country.  I hear how MLB is “cracking down” on athletes that use performance enhancing drugs.  I grimace as a world-class athlete takes a swing (and connects quite well) with a fat, drunk, middle aged, white guy who paid $100 bucks to watch him play.  And I can’t help but wonder, who’s problem is this?


We live in a culture that pays kids that are 18, 19, and 20 years old a bazillion dollars to run fast, jump high, catch well, and hit hard.  (As a side note: Do you remember how STUPID you were at that age?  Fuel that with an unending supply of cash, women, and power and then ask why these guys are acting like this!)  These kids (I’m talking like an old man, I realize that!) don’t have any life skills at this age and yet we glorify them and expect them to “act like professional athletes.”  Who teaches THAT class — Manners for World Class Athletes 101?


But back to the question…who is at fault?  I actually like Jesus’ answer in John 9 when the disciples ask the same question about a man born blind…”Who sinned, this man or his parents?”  Jesus laughs it off “Neither (LOL, as if either parties are without sin) but this has happened so that the glory of God will be displayed.”  How can the “glory of God” be displayed in this culture?  Boycott it?  Talk bad about it?  Pray against it?


Personally, I think my job is to understand it.  Not to over react to it and fuel the fire.  And then teach those that I know and love how to be a “distinct people” that live in a strange and fallen world.  To show grace.  To love no matter what is being shaken at me.  And to live the Gospel in a strange world that gets distracted by some really gifted, but stupid, athletes. 

~ by Chris Green on January 14, 2005.

One Response to “Randy Moss, Steroids, and The Gospel”

  1. Hry Chris, I totally agree with you. We are to live as aliens and strangers in this world, and it seems like that is becoming easier and easier to be different, but we must remember to make that choice. I enjoy your site. Love, Your brother-in-law

Leave a Reply

