Confessions of a Night Owl

Garfield-I_Dont_Do_Mornings.gifI
hate mornings!  I’ve tried over and over again to like them, but I
just don’t.  I know…all the REALLY spiritual people are morning
people, but sadly that leaves me out.  I’m sure that if I really
wanted to be closer to God that I would wake up at 4:00 A.M. with a
smile on my face, a song in my heart, and a prayer on my lips. 
But I’m just not wired that way.  (And, yes, I’ve prayed about
it.  Thank you very much!)

My patron saint is Garfield.  I’m a much nicer person with massive
amounts of caffeine in me.  God and I get along just fine after
about 10:00 A.M.  But before that, I’m just groggy.  I’ve
tried going to bed earlier, but in order for me to enjoy the alarm
clock at 6:00 A.M. I’d have to go to sleep just after the 5 o’clock
news.  That’s just the way my brain works.

Maybe that’s why it’s called discipline.  I must do it to make
myself a better person.  Angela and I have been waking up before
our children (which is a trick in and of itself) and spending some time
reading through the Bible and praying over the day.  Quite
honesty, we haven’t been very good at this kind of thing throughout our
marriage (mostly because of the above mentioned
morning-allergies).  But we’re plugging away at it now and when we
miss a day I actually feel bad.  Like I missed a special part of
what God had in mind for me that day.  So I guess that can be
considered growth of some kind…right?

I’m one that fights tooth and nail against much of the legalistic crap
that we pass off as spirituality.  “You MUST pray more.  You
MUST read more.  You MUST have more faith.”  But I think
there’s a balance between legalism and discipline that we have to find
in order to remain somewhat sane in our quest to follow and obey
God.  So that’s the balance I’m trying to find this year.  I
want to be obedient, but I also have to know that obedience includes a
measure of grace.  So when a morning arrives and I just growl at
it and hit the snooze button, I know that life will go on and I’ll
catch up with God later in the day.  I can’t do that every day
because there’s no discipline in that, but with His help I’ll find
balance.  (or at least more caffeine)

~ by Chris Green on January 20, 2005.

One Response to “Confessions of a Night Owl”

  1. I think morning people are crazy personally. In my opinion God likes to talk to people at night also. Let the early birds clog the “royal telephones” in the morning; at night, it’s just us and God.

Leave a Reply

