What, me worry?

What are you worried about?  I don’t know about you but I spend a lot of time worrying about stuff that I shouldn’t spend time on.  So I decided to create a list of things that I’m NOT worried about today to remind me of how my list of worries seems so pitiful.

I’m not worried about:

  • a bomb falling on my head
  • a bomb falling on my children’s heads
  • a car driving down the street suddenly exploding (on purpose)
  • where my next meal will come from
  • whether there will be a next meal
  • genocidal maniacs storming my village seeking to kill me
  • AIDS, malaria, or some other disease wiping out my family
  • being shot or put in jail for crossing the border to find work

As most of the world, I’ve spent several of the past days wondering what will happen in the Middle East.  I’ve watched as images of injured children are flashed on the screen.  I’ve listened to the politicians and the warring parties pointing the finger at each other.  And I’ve heard the predictions of WW3.

But then the scene changes…the issue of the Americans who have been trapped in the war zone and their escape from there comes up.  Some blame the government for acting too slowly.  Others say "they deserve it for vacationing in a war zone."  But before long the issue comes up — comfort.  A reporter asks about the "comfort" of the travelers.  The camera zooms in on the luxury liner and highlights the "comfort" available.  The travelers themselves complain of being "uncomfortable" as they travel.  And one commenter even went on to say that the travelers were determined to enjoy the rest of their vacation.

I can’t help but see the petty nature of these concerns.  I get irritated that comfort is even talked about as they are safe and headed back home.  I think about the thousands of people that have risked their lives to come to this country to live in poverty.  I think about the millions that live in environments that would be considered abuse in this country.  And as I think about these things I get frustrated…

…at myself!

Why am I so concerned with my own comfort?  Am I that far up Maslow’s hierarchy that I’m disconnected from the basic needs of life?  Am I so jaded that my focus stays on myself and my own "needs?"  What does it mean to live as a Jesus follower in the middle of all of this?

Jesus speaks of "seeking first the Kingdom."  My prayer today is that somehow the tendency to worry about my comfort will be transformed into a deep desire for God’s Kingdom justice to become known "on earth as it is in heaven."

Pace e Bene

~ by Chris Green on July 20, 2006.

One Response to “What, me worry?”

  1. You are all over my toes…I need to reread this everyday.

    I don’t worry so much, But I do get caught up in the “comfort” game.

Leave a Reply

