Power Surge

And a great number of people from all over Judea, from Jerusalem, and from the coast of Tyre and Sidon, who had come to hear him and to be healed of their diseases. Those troubled by evil spirits were cured, and the people all tried to touch him, because power was coming from him and healing them all. (Luke 6:18-19 emphasis mine)

Do you live a “powerful” life? Do you feel “powerful?”

As I sat in church this past Sunday (trying not to fall asleep) I stumbled across a small gem in Luke’s account of the “Sermon on the Plain” in Luke 6. I’m sure that I’ve read this passage hundreds of times before…I’ve probably even taught classes on this passage. But for some reason these words caused a great dissonance in my life and my experience. Sitting in an auditorium with hundreds of other Jesus-followers, I wondered to myself, “Where is that power today?”

I scanned the audience from where I was sitting and tried to find evidence of the power in the faces of those that were gathered. They came for the same reason that the crowd gathered around Jesus on that day. They’re convinced that the Way of Jesus is the Way of Power. Power to heal. Power to enliven. Power to grow and restore. Power to give Life.

But you couldn’t tell it by the faces…

Don’t get me wrong…I’m not one that needs some charismatic experience to know that there is truly “Power in the Blood.” But I do think that we as Jesus-followers should live lives that illuminate this dark world with the same kind of power that flowed from him. So what should that LOOK like?

I’ve struggled with this question a lot lately. I’m one of those people formerly known as “the Pastor” (if you haven’t read this one yet start here…great stuff: TPFKATC) and it’s difficult for me to be on the “sidelines.” I’ve been programmed to see “power” as the ability to stand in front of a gathering and work them into a frenzy or bring them to tears. To amaze them with insight or wow them with words. And when I’m not the one in the spotlight, it’s really easy for me to critique the one that is.

I realized, as I sat there, that the kind of power that I tend to live on is not the kind of power that Jesus emanated. His was (and is) a power that flowed naturally from the Spirit. He loved the unlovable. Touched the untouchable. And allowed the power of the universe to flow into the darkest corners of the soul. It wasn’t a power that sought popularity or praise!

It was at that point that I realized that I’m right where He wants me to be right now. I need to learn to live the “powerful life” in a New Way. I need to allow His power to FLOW from me into the places that need to be touched…not force myself into those places through my own abilities or talents. I need Him to draw those that need the power to the Source through me…not by me. And certainly not FOR me.

Help me to be still, Lord. And in that stillness to live with a Power that is more than I could ever imagine.

Still detoxing…

Chris

~ by Chris Green on May 2, 2007.

One Response to “Power Surge”

  1. That was really good and oh so true for so many individuals out there. We want to have that power, but sometimes, I think we are afraid of it.

Leave a Reply

